Equipment Purchasing

Are you planning to purchase new equipment for a laboratory? 

The very nature of research requires specialized equipment for laboratories. Because specialized research equipment is often not formally tested and validated to meet American safety standards (e.g., U.L. Listed), and procurement and installation may require unplanned infrastructure improvements including, but not limited to electrical service, HVAC capacity, noise/vibration dampening and structural loading, all purchases must be reviewed according to the criteria outlined in the Equipment Definitions and Checklist

Follow the procedure below to begin the equipment evaluation and procurement process. 

Equipment evaluation process flow chart

Facility Leads (Use this list to find your Department Facility Rep):

College of Biological Sciences: Christina Kramer (612) 624-2918 clkramer@umn.edu

College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences: Ben Fink (612) 625-8740 fink0092@umn.edu

College of Pharmacy: Jeff Thomas (612) 626-4777 j-thom1@umn.edu

College of Science and Engineering: Dave Pappone (612) 624-6854 pappone@umn.edu

College of Veterinary Medicine: Paula Buchner (612) 624-5877 buchn009@umn.edu

Medical School: Peg Brown (612-624-6651 brown489@umn.edu

School of Dentistry: Greg Johnson (612) 626-0633 johns228@umn.edu

School of Nursing: Curtis Coffer (612) 625-9160 coffe044@umn.edu

School of Public Health: Tamara Hink (612) 626-4643 hink@umn.edu

Academic Health Center Shared Units: Peg Brown (612) 624-6651 brown489@umn.edu

FM Project Coordinators:

East Bank District: Paul Krueger (612) 626-3830 krueg413@umn.edu

Health Sciences District: John Stoffel (612) 626-2876 stoff003@umn.edu

North Campus District: Julie Mahoney (612) 626-2903 jamahone@umn.edu

St. Paul District: Bryce Frandrup (612) 624-4955 frand015@umn.edu

West Bank District: Karen Haakonson (612) 624-6911 haako001@umn.edu